“5 local humanitarians chosen for 59th annual Weiss Awards”

The New Orleans Council for Community and Justice, the city’s oldest human relations organization, has announced its honorees for the upcoming 59th annual Weiss Awards. The Oct. 20 ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Hotel will recognize the five honorees’ “exceptional civic and humanitarian contributions” to the greater New Orleans community, the council said.

This year’s recipients are Henry L. Coaxum, Jr., president of Coaxum Enterprises, Inc.; Corey J. Hebert, M.D., assistant professor, LSUHSC and chief executive officer, Community Health TV; Campbell C. Hutchinson, co-founder and director emeritus, KID smART; David A. Kerstein, president of Helis Oil and Gas Company, LLC; and Suzanne T. Mestayer, owner and managing principal of the ThirtyNorth Investments, LLC.

Kerstein, is an honors graduate of Tulane Law School and is a past president of the Oil & Gas Section of the Louisiana Bar Association.

He is chairman of the board of the New Orleans Business Council and is a board member of the Louisiana Oil & Gas Association, the President’s Council of Tulane University, The Arts Council of New Orleans, Bureau of Governmental Research, The advisory board of the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival and Foundation, Inc., WWOZ New Orleans’ Community Jazz and Heritage Station, and vice-chairman of the New Orleans Police and Justice Foundation.

He is also president of The Helis Foundation, a private charitable foundation focusing on the needs and the art and culture of New Orleans and Louisiana and president of the Diana Helis Henry Medical Research Foundation and the Adrienne Helis Malvin Medical Research Foundation.

Read the complete article on